I’m still workin’ it!

Every day I learn more about so many things. I’m learning how to write. I’m learning how to enjoy my life. I’m learning what life really means, what it’s for, why I’m here and what I have to do while I’m here.

I’m grateful for so many things. Life has given me so many blessings, and I’ve always known that, but it’s always been in the back of my mind. There was always a “but” to my expressions of gratitude. Never before have I been able to just be. And be glad that I am.

I went to an interview today at a community service organization that runs charitable programs for folks. They operate a free lunch program, a food bank, they supply clothes and baby supplies for people who are in need, they even help with evictions and utility shut offs if someone can’t pay their bill. I’m going to do some volunteer work there. I’m going to start in the food pantry and help with unloading trucks, inventory, stocking shelves, that kind of stuff.

I knew I needed to do something like this, but I’ve been resisting it. I’m not really sure why, except maybe that it was outside of my “comfort zone.” Now that I’ve made the commitment, I’m looking forward to it. Besides, my intuition has been telling me that I’ll attract something good if I do this. Maybe I’ll meet a person who’ll be a significant help with my goals, or maybe I’ll make some money. Who knows? The Universe knows. It knows what I want, and it’s telling me to get involved with volunteer work at this place. My job is to just do it.

Even though I have a whole new outlook and attitude on life, old thought patterns and feelings are hard to shake. It’s also difficult to live in the concept that I can’t resist what I don’t want in my life. I must ask for, believe that I will receive, and then accept what I want for my life. Each day brings new lessons for me though. It’s kind of exciting having the knowledge that my life is only going to get better and better, better than I would ever have thought possible. In fact, it already is. I love being able to simply wake up and look forward to what each new dawn brings. There was a time, a lifetime ago, but not so long in real time, that I used to wake up and regret that I hadn’t died in my sleep. My happiness and gratitude for waking each day has turned 180*. I love it.

One thought on “I’m still workin’ it!

Leave a Reply

